Anrhydeddus Gymdeithas Y Cymmrodorion

Sefydlwyd 1751



The Honourable Society Of Cymmrodorion

Founded 1751

NODDWR/PATRON: EI UCHELDER BRENHINOL TYWYSOG CYMRU/ HRH THE PRINCE OF WALES

Unconfirmed Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, held at the Medical Society of London, 11 Chandos Street, London W1G 9EB on Tuesday, 8 May 2012 with the President, Professor Prys Morgan in the chair and with 53 members in attendance

1. Apologies for absence: were received from R Geraint Gruffydd and David Humphreys

2. Minutes of the Annual General meeting held on 9 May 2011

These had been circulated and on the proposal of Stuart Cole, seconded by Huw Wynne-Griffith, were accepted by the meeting.

3. The Annual Report of the Council

The Honorary Secretary presented the Annual Report, which had been circulated. On the proposal of Adrian Morgan, seconded by Arwyn Lloyd Hughes, the report was accepted by the meeting.

4. Annual Report of the Honorary Treasurer

The Honorary Treasurer presented the Financial Statements for the year ended 31st December 2012 certified by the Independent Examiners, E.G.Hughes & Co., Chartered Accountants. On the proposal of Cecil Roberts, seconded by Ceridwen Roberts, they were agreed and adopted by the meeting.

5. Elections

5.1. President

On the proposal of John Samuel, seconded by Cecil Roberts, Professor Prys Morgan was re-elected President of the Society.

5.2. Vice-Presidents

Having noted, with regret the death of Lord Hooson. the meeting re-elected, on the proposal of John Samuel seconded by of Jenkin Thomas, the remaining names on the list of Vice-Presidents.

5.3. Council Members

On the proposal of John Samuel, seconded by Adrian Morgan, Elizabeth Allen, Ann Arnold, Ifor ap Dafydd, Elinor Talfan Delaney, Arwyn Lloyd Hughes, Peter Jeffreys, Rhian Medi and Ceridwen Roberts were elected to serve on the Council for the next three years.

The meeting expressed its thanks and appreciation to David Hilling and David Owen-Jones who, after many years' membership of the Council, had decided not to seek reelection.

6. Independent Examiner

On the proposal of John Samuel, seconded by Jenkin Thomas, the meeting accepted a recommendation from the Council that it be given discretion to appoint a successor as Independent Examiner to E Glyn Hughes who, following his retirement from professional practice felt unable to accept re-appointment. E Glyn Hughes was thanked for his long and committed service to the Society.

7. Thanks

The President thanked everyone who had by voluntary effort aided the work of the Society during the year, in particular the officers.

Peter Jeffreys Honorary Secretary