Anrhydeddus Gymdeithas Y Cymmrodorion

Sefydlwyd 1751



The Honourable Society Of Cymmrodorion

Founded 1751

NODDWR/PATRON: EI UCHELDER BRENHINOL TYWYSOG CYMRU/ HRH THE PRINCE OF WALES

Unconfirmed Minutes of the Annual General Meeting, held at the Medical Society of London, 11 Chandos Street, London W1G 9EB on Tuesday, 14 May 2013 with the President, Professor Prys Morgan in the chair and with 32 members in attendance

1. Apologies for absence: had been received from 7 members

2. Minutes of the Annual General meeting held on 6 May 2012

These had been circulated and on the proposal of Ceridwen Roberts, seconded by Elinor Delaney, were accepted by the meeting.

3. The Annual Report of the Council

The Honorary Secretary presented the Annual Report, which had been circulated. On the proposal of John Elliott, seconded by Thomas Charles-Edwards, the report was accepted by the meeting.

4. Annual Report of the Honorary Treasurer

The Honorary Treasurer presented the Financial Statements for the year ended 31st December 2013 certified by the Independent Examiners, Lewis & Co, Chartered Accountants. On the proposal of Elizabeth Allen, seconded by Thomas Charles-Edwards, they were accepted by the meeting.

5. Elections

5.1. President

On the proposal of Arwyn Lloyd Hughes, seconded by Stuart Cole, Professor Prys Morgan was re-elected President of the Society.

5.2. Vice-Presidents

On the proposal of Jenkin Thomas, seconded by Gwenda Sipppings, the meeting re-elected the current Vice-Presidents.

5.3. Council Members

On the proposal of John Samuel, seconded by John Elliott, Rhian Davies, Ken Kyffin, Adrian Morgan and Jenkin Thomas were re-elected to serve on the Council for a further three years. On the proposal of Gwenda Sippings, seconded by Huw Wynne-Griffith, Dr Sara Elin Roberts was appointed to membership of the Council for a period of three years.

The meeting expressed its thanks to Clive Jones-Davies, D Ben Rees and Cecil Roberts, all of whom had decided not to seek re-election to the Council, for the contribution each had made to the Society during their respective periods of office.

6. Independent Examiner

On the proposal of Cecil Roberts, seconded by Huw Wynne-Griffith, Professor Richard Lewis of Lewis & Co was appointed as the independent examiner of the accounts for the forthcoming year.

The meeting expressed its appreciation of the contribution made over many years of the previous independent examiner, E Glyn Hughes and wished him well on his retirement.

7. Thanks

The President thanked everyone who had by voluntary effort aided the work of the Society during the year, in particular the officers.

8. Any Other Business

There being no other business the President closed the meeting at 6:30pm

Peter Jeffreys Honorary Secretary